Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

My proudest cake to date

Welcome to my first official blog post. Scary times!

I thought I would start my blog off with one of the cakes I’m proudest of and then gradually show you the epic fails of cakes that I started off creating (in all honesty, they haven’t got much better). Now, I am in NO WAY the best cake baker in the world and have never claimed to be. I just love to attempt things, even if they never end up looking like the image I had in my head. At the end of all the tears, stress and weird smooshed balls of ruined fondant, I have to remind myself that each cake teaches me something I didn’t know and ultimately, I have cake to enjoy and that’s never a bad thing.

Okies! So on to the proud cake. This was a cake inspired by Rosanna Pansino who is the host of the YouTube show “Nerdy Nummies”. For those of you who have read my “About Me” page, you get why this show appeals to me. Everyone else, I’m pretty sure the title of the show gives you two major plot points about me 🙂

Here is her link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dsudvd4YD6Y

Rosanna did a video around Donkey Kong  in which she, as you may have guessed, made a Donkey Kong cake. She used a banana cake in her recipe but I am not a huge fan, so I just used basic chocolate victoria sponge mix. You would want to use about 8″ tins for this. Either 2  tins that are 2″ deep or one tin that is 4″ deep. I went with the latter and cut the cake in half for filling. I found that the following basic victoria sponge recipe fills the tins enough:

  • 200g butter
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 200g self raising flour
  • 4 large eggs.

The cake consists of 2 sponge layers with chocolate buttercream in the middle and around the outsides. Kitkats are then placed around the outside to resemble a barrel. I then added my Donkey Kong which I made out of fondant. Chocolate fondant for the body and plain coloured fondant for the other bits. Obviously you could flavour the fondant if you wish, but I chose to keep it plain.

In Rosanna’s video, she uses little banana shaped sweets called “runts”. She’s American and as a Brit, I have no idea what they are. So I used marshmallow bananas instead. They are a bit bigger and aren’t as brightly coloured as Rosanna’s, but I still like how they turned out. I attempted to add black fondant around the outside of the kitkats like the rings of the barrel but, in all honesty, I didn’t have enough space to roll the fondant out properly so it kinda failed. Oh well. It was yummy cake all the same 🙂

I would seriously recommend to anyone who likes cakes, silliness and/or nerdy items; give Nerdy Nummies a look. Definitely worth it 🙂

Image

Hope you like it 🙂

Cheers for now.

Nys

2 comments on “My proudest cake to date

  1. icecreammagazine
    09/11/2013

    Go you!! X

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 09/11/2013 by in Cake, geekery and tagged , , , .

Navigation

