Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

Cauliflower “Mash”

Welcome to my 2nd post today.

Along side my yummy yummy gluten free Toad in the Hole, I decided to serve mash potato. However, I didn’t want to actually use potato as I felt it was practically undoing all the GF goodness I was doing with the main dish.

I turned to my main resource (yes, Pinterest. How did you guess?!) and low and behold, it bestowed me with a miracle dish 🙂

I have had Cauliflower “mash” before but it had always been a bit….meh. After using this recipe, I have actually converted the fussiest of eaters, my father, to cauliflower. It’s seriously THAT good 🙂

I felt it required a tutorial of it’s own and a massive shout out to the wonderful Melissa Sevigny from “I breathe, I’m Hungry” for her amazing recipe. Here’s her link: http://www.ibreatheimhungry.com for any interested parties.

So on to the recipe:

I don’t know about anyone else but I am not comfortable with the directions of “use a whole head of cauliflower” as it can vary wildly depending on where you are. So I weighed my cauliflower and have included that for anyone who gets worried lol.

400g Cauliflower
2 Tbls Double Cream
1 Tbls Butter
70g Grated Cheese.

1) In a microwavable bowl, place the cream and the butter. Break the cauliflower up into smallish pieces and add to the bowl.
Image
(the mushroom is nothing to do with the mash haha! I was preparing lunch for the next day at the same time lol!)

2) Cover the bowl lightly and cook for 6 minutes on high heat.

3) When the 6 minutes is up, uncover (carefully, the steam is super hot even at this stage) and lightly toss the florets to coat with the cream/butter mix.

4) Recover and place back in the microwave at a high heat for another 6 minutes.

5) Put the cauliflower into a blender and blitz for a minute or so until the florets are like a purée.

6) Add the cheese and blitz again.

7) Taste and season accordingly. (I always suggest tasting after adding cheese as most cheeses can actually change the level of seasoning required)

8) Serve and enjoy

Image

I know it doesn’t look amazing, but that’s just because I’m a crap photographer lol!

Cost per serving: 43p

Hope you do try it and I hope you love it as much as we do.

Let me know how it turned out, and if you added anything to it 🙂

Cheers for now,

Nys

2 comments on “Cauliflower “Mash”

  1. Bethany
    10/10/2013

    Ew. Cauliflower. Ew. That mushroom. Haha. I think I’ll stick to potato. 😛 xxxx

    • nickyless
      10/10/2013

      Hmmm, I bet it could even convince you :p it was seriously that good 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 10/09/2013 by in food, gluten free and tagged , , , , , , .
