Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

Covers, Cocoa and Crusty Bread

With the clocks going back this weekend, I class that as officially the start of Winter 😀

I’m a weird bunny in that I prefer Autumn and Winter rather than Spring and Summer. I have a very small window of ideal temperature. I can neither be too hot or too cold otherwise I shut down and cease to function as a human. In the Summer, I just sit in front of a fan and don’t move. In the Winter however, I can simply add a few more layers and away I go.

As today also coincided with storm warnings, I didn’t want to leave the house to buy groceries. I decided to use what I had in the house. Not a huge amount in the cupboards that tempted me, so I decided to make some bread and popped open a tin of soup for lunch lol. The bread recipe made more than enough so that I could enjoy eggs on toast for a snack in the evening.

I have had this recipe on my pinterest board for an age now and kept meaning to try it.  It comes from a lovely lady over at http://www.alexandracooks.com who’s mother used to cook this bread.

“Peasant Bread”

512g plain flour
2 tsp salt
2 tsp active dry yeast
1 tbsp sugar
256ml lukewarm water
2 tbsp butter or cooking spray

1) Mix flour and salt in a bowl and set aside.

2) Dissolve sugar in the water. Sprinkle the yeast over the top and leave for 10 – 15 minutes.

3) Gently stir and add to the flour.  Be warned, the mixture gets very very sticky.

4) Cover with cling film or a tea towel and place somewhere warm for it to rise. Leave for at least an hour, but 2 if possible.

5) Pre-heat the oven to Gas Mark 7/220 C/425 F.

6) Grease the bowls/tins with either the butter or the cooking spray. I used cooking spray as it’s easier and it was already in the cupboard haha

7) Use two forks to scrape the sides of the bowl down and essentially “punch down” the dough. As the dough is too sticky to handle, this is the easiest way.

8) Use the forks and split the dough into 2. Quickly lift one half into one of the bowls. It may take a few attempts due to the stickiness. I had a bit of fun with that, but it got there in the end.

9) Put the dough back in the warm space and leave to rise for another 20 – 30 minutes.

10) Bake in the oven for 15 minutes. Then turn the oven down to Gas Mark 5/190 C/375 F for a further 15 – 17 minutes.

11) Turn out on to a cooling rack and leave to cool.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

It’s very moist and fluffy. I am definitely a convert on this 🙂 It’s very simple to make and very nice to eat.

It’s even better that it’s a budget meal as well. I am going to attempt to make it into a larger loaf next time so I can see how long it takes to cook like that.

Cals per loaf: 901.26
Price for recipe: £0.22
Price per loaf: £0.11

I tried a different recipe for the eggs (another one from pinterest) and will do another post on how well that went.

Keep an eye for it 🙂

Nys

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 10/26/2013 by in bargain, budget, Budget food, Comfort food, food and tagged , , , , , .
