Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

Oven Baked Scrambled Eggs

As I said in yesterday’s post, I made bread and decided to have scrambled eggs on bread for dinner. I have many-a-many recipes on my pinterest board (357 at last count, and only about 10 I’ve actually tried). So I decided to scour through the board and find a different scrambled egg recipe. Turns out I had one 🙂

Normally, I either make my eggs in a saucepan or in the microwave. However, the microwave makes it taste a bit…..funky to me and the saucepan requires constant supervision. I’m too lazy to stand over a stove cooking. I like to sit down lol. So this recipe is kind of a win for me. Plus it enables you to make a large amount in one go (if you’re serving breakfast for a few people). I can see me doing this recipe for people when they stay over after a drinking night lol.

The recipe came from http://m.allrecipes.com/recipe/57459/oven-scrambled-eggs and the recipe allows you to change how many servings you want. I made enough for 2 people as my mother was trying it out with me.

Oven Baked Scrambled Eggs

Serves 2

20g melted butter
65g milk
4 eggs
1/4 teaspoon salt

1) Pre-heat the oven to Gas Mark 4/180 C/350 F

2) Pour the melted butter into a shallow-ish casserole dish. I used an oval dish that was 8″ by 5″ and 1.5″ deep.

3) Whisk the eggs and salt in a jug. Gradually add the milk.

4) Pour into the dish and bake for 10 minutes. Stir and leave for another 10 – 15 minutes.

The dish was a little full and took a little longer to cook, so I would use a larger dish next time around but this is a very simply dish and the egg is sooo fluffy when it comes out. This is now my go-to recipe for scrambled egg. Please ignore the brown bits around the edge of the dish. As I said above, it was a little too full and I’m not so stable with my hands (damn you, Fibro!) so I may have sloshed it around a little.

It’s also a pretty cheap meal as well.

Price for whole recipe (here): £0.49
Price per serving: £0.24

So for the evening meal for mum and I:

Loaf of bread: £0.11
Scrambled egg: £0.49
= £0.60
= £0.30 each.

How can you argue with that? 🙂

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Cheers for now,

Nys

7 comments on “Oven Baked Scrambled Eggs

  1. ericaeckman
    10/27/2013

    What a cool trick, thanks!

    I just recently started my food/lifestyle blog. I was wondering if you could check it out, tell me what you think and like me on Facebook (I’m trying to build a readership)?! I would really value your opinion. Your blog looks great 🙂

    http://www.facebook.com/everythingericaeats

    • nickyless
      10/27/2013

      Heya. Pleased to help.

      I’m always happy to find other foodie blogs 🙂 and happy to help a fellow blogger 🙂

      If you try any of the recipes on here, let me know how you get on 🙂 I can then add updates as and when 🙂

  2. A Mum and More
    10/27/2013

    Looks like a child-friendly way of making eggs. Might have to give this a try.

    • nickyless
      10/27/2013

      It really is so simply. And also, it’s tastier than over the stove. And it’s an easier way of cooking a full breakfast because you don’t need to keep one eye on the stove all the time 🙂

      Have fun with it and let me know how it goes, I’d love to know if the little ones love it 🙂

  3. Pingback: A Smorgasbord Of Healthy | Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

  4. Pingback: Mushroom & Egg Bake | Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 10/27/2013 by in bargain, budget, Budget food, Comfort food, food and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
