Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

The Monster, They Called Benedict

Thursday night, we went to see Frankenstein at the local cinema. It was one of the National Theatre’s 50th anniversary showings. As you may, or may not know, in this production of Frankenstein, the lead two roles are played by Benedict Cumberbatch and Jonny Lee Miller. They literally play both roles. They alternate the roles each show.

The show is an adaptation of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein but re-imagined from the view of the monster. It was adapted by Nick Dear and directed by Danny Boyle.

The version I saw tonight had Benedict as the monster and Jonny as Frankenstein. It was simply amazing. It opens on the monster being “born” and coming into existence and follows him as he finds his creator and try to make a life for himself. Finding his feet, finding his voice and finding out what it means to be a man.

For my part, I found it a bit of an emotional ride. There are a few laughs and joyful moments but by the end, I was rather teary. Maybe that’s because I’m an emotional bugger anyway, but the fact that I could hear a few sniffles makes me sure it was just the power of the performance.

The scenery and production values were very clearly Danny Boyle. He is an auteur as his work is so identifiable, especially after the London Olympics 2012 opening ceremony.

I wish I had been in the audience of the theatre, rather than the cinema, because the urge to applaud was quite high.

I look forward to seeing the flip side of the performance and seeing Jonny’s turn as the monster.

Overall, a truly beautiful and heart-breaking portrayal
.Frankenstein9_1833302b

Please note I am simply writing this as my own honest view and experience of the show. I am in no way affiliated with the show or the people involved, Just thought I should throw in that disclaimer lol!

Leave a Reply

