Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

Japanese Food – Yummy Yummy

On Saturday, the boyfriend and I went out for lunch. He gave in to my craving for Japanese food (although he loves it too, so there was no real protest lol!) and we wandered over to the local noodle bar.

He ordered his usual yum yum chicken and salt & peppered chicken. I didn’t take any photos of those (I was too busy taking pics of mine lol!) but he promises that they were delicious.

I had a dish I have had before, Yasai Yaki Udon, but also tried something I have been meaning to for a while, Gyoza.

IMG_20131102_154553
This is the Yasai Yaki Udon. It may not look like a lot but it’s very filling (and very yummy.) There are red peppers, shiitake mushrooms, flat green beans, and tofu.

IMG_20131102_154734This is the Gyoza. It’s a pork filled dumpling and often has shredded cabbage inside. I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect, but after the nikuman I made a while back, I had a vague idea of what it was going to taste like. It is lovely. I was so full, so wasn’t able to finish it. But when I get a chance, I think I will try to make it.

The prices weren’t too bad either. Two dishes and a drink each came to £24. Not bargain prices but not too bad at all. And these dishes filled us up until we got home about 8pm (so about 5 hours).

If anyone has any other dishes I should try, let me know. I am keen to try them all if I can 🙂

Cheers for now,

Nys

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 11/07/2013 by in Comfort food, food, geekery, Japanese and tagged , , , .
