Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

Delicious Chocolate Brownies

Hi guys. Today I wanted to try a new recipe. Shockingly for a cake-baking, chocoholic like me, I’ve never actually made brownies. Neither from scratch or from box mix. I know, I should turn in my membership card.

But I decided today was the day. And I’m soooo pleased I did šŸ™‚ I’m writing this from the couch with a full belly and a massive smile on my face šŸ™‚ Best brownies I’ve had. Ever.

So let’s get started.

Brownies
Makes 10 brownies (based on my dish.)

256g butter
256g chocolate chips
4 large eggs
192g plain flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
160g cocoa powder
288g caster sugar

1) Spray your cooking dish with cooking spray. Pre-heat oven to 305F/ 180C/ Gas Mark 4. The recipe called for a dish 13″ x 9″. I didn’t have that sort so mine was smaller. This means that the number of brownies and the thickness of them will differ depending on your dish.
2) In a saucepan, melt the butter and sugar together until smooth.
3) Remove from heat and allow to cool.
4) Mix eggs and vanilla in a jug. Gradually add and mix until smooth.
5) Once again, gradually add the flour, baking powder and cocoa powder to the mix until smooth. THIS IS TOUGH GOING. I did this with a wooden spoon and OW lol
6) Add the chocolate chips and transfer to the dish.
7) Bake for 30 mins or until a knife comes out clean. Because my dish was that much smaller and deeper, it took longer to cook than stated. Start to keep an eye on it after 25 mins šŸ™‚

This is a very sticky mixture but OH….MY…GOD it’s worth it šŸ™‚ gorgeous with ice cream.

Image

Cost for recipe: Ā£9.90
Cost per brownie: 99p
Cal for recipe: 4071 (ouchie, I know)
Cal per brownie: 407 (you only need 1 though)

If you make these, let me know how you get on šŸ™‚

Cheers for now,

Nys
<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/11280597/?claim=djkh9dwuwcg”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

One comment on “Delicious Chocolate Brownies

  1. Pingback: White Chocolate & Cranberry Cookies | Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 11/16/2013 by in Cake, Comfort food, Desserts, food and tagged , , , , .
