Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

Legend of Zelda Cake

Hi there peeps,

Hope you are all doing well in the lead up to Christmas. For some, it’s also the run up to their birthdays. My boyfriend and my brother fall into this category.

My brother doesn’t like cake (I swear he must be adopted) so I only needed to make 1 cake this year.

As the boyfriend is a fan of the Legend of Zelda and has recently been playing the new game, I thought I would make him a shield cake 🙂

It was a basic vanilla sponge with vanilla butter cream frosting. Nothing adventurous but am still learning what flavours the man-face likes 🙂 I used a 12″ by 10″ tin to make the cake. Proportions were as follows:

  • 400g Caster Sugar
  • 400g Self Raising Flour
  • 400g Butter
  • 8 large eggs.

This made a single layer cake but I did cover it in insane amounts of frosting so it doesn’t matter I couldn’t slice it in half  🙂

For the shield shape, I found a picture online, blew it up to A4 size, printed it and used that as my template. Placing this on the cake and cutting around it with a bread knife (large and serrated). I have included this image below.

hylian_shield_vector_by_reptiletc-d49y46o

I then rolled out the blue fondant and, again using the template, cut out the shape of the shield. I made this an inch bigger than I needed all the way around to make sure if covered the cake properly. Here, the sides are uncovered.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The next colour to work on is the silver for the metal. I chose to take a large amount of white fondant and a small amount of black fondant and mix the 2 together. It’s best to do this in balls the size of a pea because a little will go a LONG way. There other ways to do this, but they tend to involve a lot of black fondant or black food colouring which can leave the fondant with a bitter taste. I used approximately 250g block of white to 2 pea sized balls of black.

I measured out the length and width of each side and then rolled out strips to that spec. Taking each piece, starting from the two shortest sides, I placed them on the cake so that part of it overlapped onto the shield. Use water to act as a glue between the blue and the silver fondant.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I then cut the rivet parts out of the template and used them to cut the silver fondant to shape. I found that doing each piece at a time meant that it was easier for me to remember where each piece went 🙂

It was then time to leave the silver alone for a while and rock on with the only bit of yellow. The TRI-FORCE! Yay! Again, using the template to cut out the shapes and carefully use water to glue them in place.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Repeat the same process with the red fondant and the remaining silver parts. These are RIDICULOUSLY fiddly and you need to take time with these. I have limited patience so I may have rushed mine slightly lol!

But here we go. A completed shield cake. I waited until the water had dried to take this one. Definitely worth it 🙂

The fella liked it, so that’s all that matters to me 🙂

Bb1xM5EIQAAB2gl

Anyways, I hopes you like it and if it is your birthday at any point these next few weeks (either before, on or after xmas), I wish you a FANTASTIC birthday and hope you have a great one 🙂

Cheers for now,

Nys

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 12/22/2013 by in Cake, Desserts, diy, geekery, Nerd and tagged , , , , , , .
