Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

Fondant Buttons – A tutorial of sorts

Hi all,

Hope everyone has had a lovely week. Has been a very stressed week at work, so am pleased to have had a day to myself today to work on a few projects I have coming up.

As I have mentioned in passing before, I am attending my best mate’s wedding in March of this year as one of her bridesmaids. I am also, being a budding cake decorator, making their wedding cake. Because this is the bestie and her amazing fella, I want this cake to go perfectly for them. To this end, I am practicing a few aspects that I’ve never done before. Namely mini-cakes and button decorations. They are having a silver and purple colour scheme so the buttons will be silver and the main fondant will be purple.

I’m also getting to trial lustre dust, which is something I have been desperately searching for a reason to trial for ages, so this is an added win on my part.

So on to the buttons. Button, button, who’s got the button? Answer, I do! Next question, who’s coming to take it from me?!……I may have just out-geeked myself there. Award yourself 30 internet points if you got all three references 😉

So the equipment is very simple for these buttons. It’s simply a large circle cutter, a slightly smaller circle cutter and something to make the holes with. In my case, as these are cupcake toppers, I used a 1A piping tip, piping bag coupler, a rolling pin and a star tool.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Step 1:
Roll out the fondant to the desired thickness.

20140117_142656

Step 2:

Using the larger circle, cut out the number of buttons you want. I always make extra for toppers as you never know what could happen.

20140117_142925

Step 3
Use the smaller cutter to make a slight indent into the fondant. You don’t want to cut through, just to mark a ridge.

20140117_143042

Step 4
Use the pointy tool (cocktail stick or end of a paintbrush works) to create the 4 holes in the centre of the button.

20140117_143942

This picture is after I used lustre dust (in it’s pure form) on the button. I wasn’t impressed. I had a few umms and ahhs over this part so did a few different methods to find one I (and the newly-weds-to-be) were happy with.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

So here we have:
Far left: White fondant + Lustre Dust Spray.
2nd from left: grey fondant + lustre dust mixed with a bit of alcohol.
Top Right: grey fondant + lustre dust spray
Bottom Right: white fondant + lustre dust mixed with a bit of alcohol.

Out of the 4, I much prefer working with the grey fondant for a silver button, although I do like the shimmer to the white buttons.

Anyway, hope you guys like this. If you have any questions, let me know in the comments below.

I’ll be posting about the mini-cakes tomorrow 🙂

Cheers for now,

Nys

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 01/18/2014 by in Cake, Desserts, diy, Event Planning, food, Tips & Tricks and tagged , , , , , , , , .
