Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

The Fail Of The Mini-Cake

Hi all,

Sorry this post was delayed. We had a few people over Saturday night for drinks, which meant attempting to tidy up on Sunday with slight hangovers lol! I then *may* have got distracted playing my new expansion packs of Sims 3 (Ambitions and Into The Future). Although, robots trying to hit on humans was always going to be hilarious 🙂

Still, here my fail is, in all it’s glory.

I started off making a chocolate sheet cake. I wanted it to be quite deep so I used a roasting tin I have specifically for cake making. I used the following recipe amounts.

400g Caster Sugar
400g Butter
400g Self Raising Flour
8 Eggs
1/4 cup Cocoa Powder.

It’s basically a double recipe. This turned out to be the perfect size for the cakes and I managed to produce 19 cakes from my pan.
I used a cookie cutter to cut the cakes. Unfortunately my cutter is one of those 2 edged ones where it has a scalloped edge on the other side. Because of this, I couldn’t push the cutter all the way down. I had to push as far as possible and then finish the job with a knife. It wasn’t difficult or anything, just messy and time consuming lol!

1604828_10151804509916595_2015181668_n

1515031_10151804508701595_420136670_n

I then sliced the cakes in half and filled them with the delicious buttercream (see here for the recipe) and replaced the tops. Honestly, the buttercream is even better once it’s been refrigerated overnight if possible 🙂

At this point, I should have placed these in the freezer to firm them up a bit. The cake is quite crumbly when trying to frost the outside. I didn’t thought. Partly because I was rushing to get done before the guests showed up (bad timing on my part) and partly because our freezer is teeny tiny and already full of other food.

So I frosted 2 cakes as a trial, and then rolled out the fondant. I found 50g per cake is the right amount to cover the cake even if it didn’t go to plan. Just enough so it doesn’t break, but you still have excess in case.

1524625_10151804508616595_537343405_n

So this was my first attempt. Yikes, huh? You don’t have to tell me. I wondered what the hell had happened too. By the 2nd cake, I had understood. The kitchen was too warm to use fondant, and where the cake was still soft, I couldn’t put a bit of pressure on the cake and it still hold its shape. So it created those sorts of shapes instead. Blergh.

I ended up giving up with the other cakes, just putting some frosting on the top and adding the buttons. They looked ok and went down a treat anyway 🙂

1507809_10151804508456595_238499383_n

Having discussed it with the B2B, we’ve decided on cupcakes instead. Now those, I know I can do 🙂

Hope you had a good laugh at my fail, I know we did at home 🙂

Cheers for now,

Nys x

One comment on “The Fail Of The Mini-Cake

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Cupcakes | Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 01/20/2014 by in Cake, Desserts, diy, Tips & Tricks and tagged , , , , .
