Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

Princess Dress Cupcakes – Tutorial.

Hi guys,

A little while back I was messing around with fondant and seeing what I could make. You may, or may not, have seen the results on my instagram or facebook pages. I was quite pleased with how the dress came out so thought I would share how I did it.

Here is the equipment I used:

Image

1: Ball tool
2: Tylose Powder to harden the fondant
3: Pink fondant (although you can obviously do this in the fondant of your choosing. I just had a lot of left over pink lol)
4: Serrated tapered cone tool
5: Cupcake with buttericing. Doesn’t need too much. It’s just to hold everything in place.
6: A variety of different sized cookie cutters. These are round and double edged. One side is smooth circle and the other is crinkled (often used for scones). It’s the crinkled edge you want.
7: Fondant rolling pin.

Step 1

Find the smallest cutter that is able to go over your cupcake with ease. This is your first cutter. In my case, this was the 88mm cutter.
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Step 2

Mix your tylose powder into the fondant. Normally about 1/2 tsp will do for a 250g packet of fondant.

Step 3

Roll out the fondant to the desired thickness. I normally aim for a 1/8 inch thickness. (I have a rolling pin that has guide rings. Super helpful)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Step 4

Using the serrated edge of the cone tool, lightly make an indent around the edge of the cut out. I then lightly roll the tool over the surface just to make sure.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

As you can see, if you press too hard, it cuts through the fondant. Just means being careful when you pick it up 🙂

Step 5

Place the fondant cut-out on the cake. Easy enough. Just make sure it’s centred.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Step 6

Repeat these steps with each of the circle sizes until you have the smallest one left. Once each circle has been cut out and marked, place it over the top of the one previously. Use a small bit of water to act as glue and hold each disk in place.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Step 7

With the final circle, you frill the edge same as all the others but I personally leave the middle part unscored

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I then placed this on top and went to work on the bodice.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Step 8

To make the bodice, I took a ball of fondant. Using the cup of my hand, I rolled one end slightly to make it tear drop shaped. By pushing slightly more, I was able to create the definition for the breasts.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I then used the smooth tapered cone tool and made an indent in the top where the “body” would go. I made this bigger (using the same tool) and affixed it to the top of the dress with water.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Step 9

I decided to add a ribbon around the waist to finish it off. I rolled a thin sausage of fondant and wrapped it around the waist part of the dress to hide the seam between torso and skirt.

I then rolled another sausage of fondant but flattened it with the rolling pin to make a flat “ribbon”.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
I then cut two equal strips and cut them at an angle at 1 end. Using water, I attached these to the back of the dress.

Below is the back and then the front of the finished dress.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Hope you liked this. If you have any questions, drop me a comment below.

Cheers for now 🙂

Nys

2 comments on “Princess Dress Cupcakes – Tutorial.

  1. justme3362
    03/24/2014

    Love it! We tried to make a fondant smurf village last year… We were surprised at how hard it was to work with! This is pretty fabulous.

    • nyssalang
      03/24/2014

      Thank you so much 🙂 fondant is a rather temperamental creature lol. It can’t be too hot or too damp where you’re working or it gives up on you haha. Blimey, a smurf village? I can see a lot of fiddly details in that lol. Fair play to you though 🙂 would love to see how that turned out 🙂

      Nys

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 03/23/2014 by in Cake, Crafts, Desserts, diy, Tips & Tricks and tagged , , , , , , , .
