Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

A Smorgasbord Of Healthy

Hi all,

I have to go for a company medical check and the program asks you to keep a food diary. Over the last 2 – 3 weeks, I’ve been making a series of cakes and other cake-based paraphernalia and I *MAY* have been eating a lot of the left-overs…..ok, we all know there is no “may” about it. So I have decided to kick-start my metabolism a little and also try out a few foods that I have seen multiple sources claim to be good for you, yet never got around to actually trying. I see it as a kick up the backside to overcome my fussiness.

Today’s list consists of:
Avocado
Cottage Cheese
Natural Yogurt

I used the recipe from my Oven Baked Eggs post but modified it a little…mainly because I didn’t have any milk.

The new recipe is as follows:
4 eggs
1/4 tsp salt
65g natural yogurt
20g butter
1 avocado
100g cottage cheese.

I cut the avocado in half and removed the stone in the middle. Using a spoon between the flesh and the skin, I scooped the avocado out into a bowl. Easiest method EVER. So simple 🙂

I mashed the avocado up and added it to the jug with the eggs, salt and yogurt in. I then added the cottage cheese and whisked it, Then cook in the same way as the normal egg recipe.

I served it on toast and with a couple slices of smoked salmon. I didn’t know how I would like avocado as I have never enjoyed guacamole but this is just mild enough and creamy enough to work 🙂

I really enjoyed it and think I will definitely be including this in my recipe collections 🙂

Image

Per serving:

Cals: 392
Fat: 29g
Carbs: 10g
Protein: 24g
Sodium: 769mg
Vit C: 17% daily intake
Iron: 60% daily intake

Cost recipe: £2.38
Cost per serving: £1.19

Let me know if you try this out or have any recipes you think I should try 🙂

Cheers for now

Nys

Leave a Reply

