Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

A Morning Basket Cake

Hi guys,

Hope you are all enjoying the Easter period. I’ve currently got a few days off work (lush!) so am able to chill out a little bit.

This morning I woke up with the urge to create a cake. I wanted to do a sort of Spring themed cake but not leaning so heavily on the Easter side of things. I decided to create a flower basket. Now, I normally use all fondant on my cakes but wanted to practice my technique with buttercream so decided to mix and match the two mediums.

I chose to use a sloped-edge, glass casserole dish as the pan for this cake. This gave me the shape of the basket, without needing to carve anything (hate carving lol). I coated the cake with a crumb-coat and I then used a PME medium ribbed ribbon tip to create the basketweave pattern. It took me a few tries to get the rhythm of the pattern but once I got the hang of it, it took shape very quickly.

Using a small blossom cutter with a plunger, I cut out a few fondant pieces to decorate the base of the pot. I then used a rose leaf cutter and veiner to create a layer of leaves for the roses.

Using a 1M tip, I then piped the swirl-roses onto the cake. Still getting the knack of flowers so these still look a bit….iffy lol but hopefully they will get better as I do more 🙂

ImageImage

For a morning’s work, I’m quite pleased with how this turned out.

Anyway, that’s me done for the day. Am off out to enjoy some drinks with friends. Hope you all enjoy your weekend, and hope you find lots of Easter Eggs 😀

Cheers for now 🙂

Nys

2 comments on “A Morning Basket Cake

  1. justme3362
    04/21/2014

    Lucky you, and beautiful cake!

    • nyssalang
      04/21/2014

      Thanks so much 🙂 shame that what was lilac buttercream turned grey after I had piped it lol.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 04/19/2014 by in Cake, Desserts, food and tagged , , , , , , .
