Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

Cake International 2014 – London

Hi guys,

Hope you are all looking forward to the weekend, even if the weather is struggling to remember whether it’s spring or autumn lol!

I finally got my pictures off my camera so I can now share this post 🙂

A few weeks ago, myself and the lovely Bethany went to Cake International at the ExCel Centre in London.

Sidenote here. Mrs Bethany now has a new lifestyle blog “Wishes and Whiskers“. Life as a newly-wed, make-up talk, becoming an MUA fashion, health and everything else in between. Check it out , it’s awesome 🙂

So, before getting to the event, I wasn’t sure what to expect as I have never beento anything like that before. As someone who’s trying to break into the cake decorating biz, I was hoping for a bit more focus on trade rather than commercial sales, so wholesalers for boxes/fondant etc. Having said that, it was still a lovely experience. We got to see a lot of interesting products, a quick demo by Ann Pickard for basic animal modelling and try a few samples. Got to love free samples 🙂

I think the most interesting part, for both myself and Bethany, was the competition entries. I was left in awe but inspired. Some incredible work. Photos don’t do them justice (especially mine lol) but I will share them anyway.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

The last 3 photos are actually of miniature displays. The fish display was not much bigger than the palm of my hand. Insane level of detail 🙂

Hope you guys like this,

Cheers for now.

Nys x

 

2 comments on “Cake International 2014 – London

  1. justme3362
    04/25/2014

    Wow! Talk about eye candy!

    • nyssalang
      04/25/2014

      I know, right? Gorgeous creations and have made me so inspired 🙂 have signed up for a cake decorating class because of it:)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 04/25/2014 by in Cake, Cookies, Crafts, Desserts, diy, food, geekery, Nerd and tagged , .
