Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

Life Update: Onwards and Upwards

Hi all!

Hope you’re all doing ok. I know I’ve been away for a heck-a-long time. Moving flat (with some residual drama and stress), degree exam (always stressful) and extra life issues including my own health.

Thought I would do a quick post to update and then jump back into posting regularly again. Trust me, many good things are coming up 🙂

Best news is that I’m happier than I’ve ever been in my life. My depressive bouts are down to a minimum (lucky if I get 1 a month now). My eczema is clearing up and it’s all because of G. Things with the ex just were not working at all. Was more of a flatmate than a partner. Wishing I had gone for the drink with G 3 years ago and saved myself the heartache and time. Still, good things come to those who wait 🙂 and he was definitely worth waiting for 🙂

The ordeal of moving two homes into one is finally over. A few boxes left in the living room, but G and I are now in a gorgeous one bed, with a garden of all things 😀

It’s all decking and patio, but we’re looking at getting tubs and growing our own vegetables. I’ve never been one for the idea of gardening, but after all the rubbish I’ve gone through in the last 8 months, and feeling like my old flat was more of a prison than a home, the idea of making a home with G (including a thriving “Good Life” style garden) is something that I honestly cannot wait for. Domestic bliss is calling my name and if that means donning the gloves and cutters, then so be it 🙂

We’ve started with mushrooms as they only really require darkness and can be planted any time of the year. It was a learning curve for my hyperactive brain when I found out that we had to actually WAIT before we could plant things and I couldn’t just go crazy with OTT energy like usual. Still, it means we can actually work out a plan of attack and hopefully it will go well lol 🙂 We’re both loving the idea of fresh veggies on our healthy meals 🙂

Yep, I’m back on the healthy kick and given G’s amazing cooking skills (the man’s not just a pretty face) and his own weight-loss journey (9 stone in 1.5 years, way to go baby!), I’m in exactly the right place to get the right support and help in staying on the right course 🙂 Moved in to the flat 4 weeks ago and since then, I’ve lost 5lb 🙂 Always a good sign. Will be posting a few more recipes in the next few weeks as G and I both like to eat healthy but like to keep costs down as much as possible 🙂

So that’s weight loss, a new man, a new home, a new start 🙂

Got loads of stuff planned over the next few months, so will have a lot to post 🙂

Cheers for now,
Nys

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 09/29/2014 by in bargain, blog, budget, Health Eating and tagged , , , .
