Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

Prep Ahead Bagels

Hi all,

G and I are currently overhauling our diets. We are increasing our exercise, adding fresh juice (yes, we have bought a juicer lol) and we’re trying to get organised by preparing food ahead of time.

One example of this is my breakfast. G has porridge but I’m very fussy and cannot stand it. I decided to try and make an imitation of the McDonald’s breakfast bagels instead. I chose to do a ham, cheese and egg bagel rather than try and faff around with sausage patties. My patience has limitations lol 🙂

I was very pleased with how they turned out and G was searching for seconds so they definitely get our household seal of approval.

I decided to prep a load of them for the mornings so I didn’t have to try and make a new one each day. I went “industrial” in the kitchen and ended up having every available surface covered in tin foil, just waiting to receive the bagel-goodness 🙂

Nuke and Go Bagels

The ingredient ratio is 1 :1, so for however many bagels you want to make up, you need the same number of everything else. In this case I made 12 (2 for tasting, 10 for wrapping up lol)

12 Large eggs
12 quorn ham
12 Bagels cut in half
12 cheese slices
Garlic salt (optional)
Mixed herbs (optional)

Equipment:

12 muffin tin (or 2 six sized ones will work).
12 squares of tin foil (large enough to wrap around the bagels when full)

1) Preheat the oven to 180C or Gas Mark 4. Spray the wells of a 12 hole muffin tin with cooking spray or very lightly brush with oil (I re-purpose a fry-light canister for easy use).

2) Into each well, crack an egg. At this point, I usually sprinkle a tiny pinch of garlic salt and mixed herbs to flavour the egg. This is completely optional.

3) Place in the oven for 1o – 15 mins, or until cooked through.

4) Whilst the eggs are cooking, lay out the squares of foil. Place the bottom half of a sliced bagel in the middle. This makes it easier to handle once all the filling is in.

5) Layer up your fillings. I put the ham first as once the egg is on, the cheese will start to melt through the hole.

6) When the eggs are cooked, carefully slide them out of the pan and place on each bagel. Pop the tops and wrap in the foil.

7) Place in the freezer.

I move one from the freezer to the fridge the evening before I will want one so that it has time to defrost and then microwave it for 1 – 2 mins in the morning

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Per bagel
Price: 44p
Calories: 373
Fat:9g
Protein: 25g
Carbs: 46g
Vitamin A: 6%
Calcium: 3%
Iron: 3%

I don’t think that’s a bad way to start the day at all really 🙂

Cheers for now,

Nys

One comment on “Prep Ahead Bagels

  1. Pingback: Day 1 of “3 for £3″ | Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

Leave a Reply

