Once Upon A Nerdy Eater

A place for all kinds of food, crafts and general nerdery

One-Pan Couscous

Hi All,

Dinner recipe this time. Surprisingly filling but can easily have salad added to it if needed.

One-Pan Couscous

Serves 4:

200g Quorn Chicken-Style Pieces
1 cube of Chicken Stock
200g dry couscous
200ml warm water
1 tbsp oil
315g Onion finely diced
15g ginger
98g Red Pepper roughly chopped
95g Button Mushrooms
1 tin of chopped tomatoes (400g)

1) Dissolve the stock cube in the warm water.
2) Heat oil over a medium heat. Cook the onion until softened.
3) Add the mushrooms, peppers and quorn and cook until softened. Sprinkle over the ginger and toss to coat.
4) Add the chopped tomatoes, water and couscous.
5) Mix once and bring to the boil. Reduce to a simmer and cover for 5 mins or until the couscous has soaked up the water.
6) Fluff the couscous with a fork and serve either in a warm bowl or with a salad.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Here are the stats per serving

Cost: 73p
Cals: 201
Fat: 5g
Carb: 26g
Protein: 12g

Makes an excellent lunch or a filling dinner 🙂 I got to serve mine in the cute little soup bowls a friend gave G and I 🙂

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

7 comments on “One-Pan Couscous

  1. justme3362
    01/19/2015

    This looks delicious! Reminds me of a dish my friend turned me on to: rice, chicken and veggies all cooked in a rice cooker. Turns out you can do that!

    • nyssalang
      01/19/2015

      It’s amazing how many dishes can be one pot 🙂 that’s why I love the slow cooker. We just bung stuff in there and come home 8 hours later to delicious easy food 🙂

      • justme3362
        01/20/2015

        I don’t know why, when life gets busy, I forget about these little tricks and go for takeout. I’m so sick of takeout now!!!

      • nyssalang
        01/20/2015

        That’s why I like having my breakfast already prepped and ready to go. I just take one bagel out of an evening, put it in the fridge and nuke it the next day. Means I’m less likely to snack at work on junk. And I’ve got my salad pots ready to go as well so I only snack on the pots rather than crisps etc. I’m really trying to make sure that I have easy access to good food and access to bad food means a coat, gloves, shoes and energy lol.

      • justme3362
        01/20/2015

        It’s brilliant. I’m going to get Husband on organizing us, STAT. 🙂

      • nyssalang
        01/20/2015

        I do my bagels ahead of time (honestly, I have a post on here about it. Eggs in muffin trays, who knew?!) and will be posting my snack pots soon too 🙂

      • justme3362
        01/20/2015

        I saw it! Thought about doing it, but then figured I’d miss my bagel guy (bad reason, I know). It’s really excuses to not cook… wah-wah. 🙂

Leave a Reply

